Sunday, November 13, 2022

Scottish Ancestral Areas

My Scottish ancestral areas (inspired by @ScottishGENES)
  • Angus (Dundee)
  • Argyll (Appin, Island of Shuna, Kentallen)
  • Avrshire (Dunlop, Kilmarnock, Kilmaurs, Saltcoats, Banffshire, Dunbartonshire)
  • Fife (Dysart, Kilconquhar Largo)
  • Lanarkshire (Airdrie, Baillieston, Blantyre, Bothwell, Cambuslang, Cambusnethan, Carluke, Carmichael, Carnwath, Chapelton, Coatbridge, Dalziel, Douglas, East Kilbride, Glasgow, Glassford, Govan, Hamilton, Hutchesontown, Libberton, New Monkland, Old Monkland Middle, Old Monkland Western, Old Monkland, Partick, Rutherglen, Shettleston, Shotts, Tradeston, Uddingston) 
  • Midlothian (Cockpen, Edinburgh, Edinr, Leith, St Andrew, West Calder)
  • Moray (Elgin)
  • Perthshire (Comrie, Little Dunkeld)
  • Renfrewshire (Abbey, Barrhead, Cathcart, Eastwood)
  • West Lothian (Whitburn) 
Map of Lanarkshire in the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, 1868. It shows a listing of parishes and the names of the surrounding counties.

Image Credit: By Internet Archive Book Images - book page:, No restrictions,

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.